First Impressions: 2014 Surly Ogre

One of the finest off-road touring bikes available.DSC00027DSC00056

The Surly Ogre with Jones H Loop bar.  I wrapped this bar for multiple comfy hand positions.  Fully decked out here for an overnighter on the Great Divide.   This bar makes the ride.

DSC00015

Bill’s Bike shop in Idaho Falls built up the bike.  The entire shop was quietly impressed with this tannish grey machine.  Glad I could show them the way.  Surly moved Heaven and Earth to get me this tannish grey color.  Many thanks to Kate at Surly for making this happen in a timely manner.  She went out of her way to see that I had this bike in time for our Great Divide weekend ride.  Lots to love regarding this irreverent bike company from Minnesota   I think they strap chain saws to their bikes…that’s why I love them.  .

DSC00017Notice the multitude of fork mounts.  These all have a purpose.  I plan to mount Cleaveland Mountaineering, Everything Bags to these mounts.  Also notice that monster front rotor, 180mm.  Can you say stoping power?

DSC00011 According to the literature, I can squeeze 2.5″ tires into this frame.  Sweeeet!

DSC00009 Gotta love the head badge.  Even the Surly font strikes a positive vibe with me.  

DSC00005DSC00007 Full cable housing runs for all cables.  This keeps out all the mud and muck.

DSC00003 Troy is an awesome mechanic, best I know.  Taking his time here…he knows I want things right.  He sprayed the inside of the frame with Frame Saver prior to build-up.

DSC00022Now that’s a beautiful girl riding my Surly.  I wonder if she wishes she bought an Ogre, instead of her Fargo.  No, she loves her Fargo.

Adventure bikes have never been this good.  Go out and get yourself one.  Cheap compared to therapy of any kind.  I’ve always said, “you can give your money to the bike shop or the shrink…I choose the bike shop”.  

About brent1965

Just an ordinary husband and father. Love outdoor pursuits such as: Sailing, Nordic skiing, Outdoor Photography, Cycling and Van Life.
This entry was posted in Bicycles, Bikepacking, Current Bikes, Gear Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to First Impressions: 2014 Surly Ogre

  1. Good day, good sir. What is the size of your Ogre frame and what is you height. Please tell me. I would like to buy an Ogre frame but as I live in a remote country I have no way of testing the appropriate size.
    Thank you.

Leave a comment