Pimping my 2014 Surly Ogre

I love my Surly Ogre.  Yet, I had to make it my own.  I always want a few things different than the manufacture provides.  It was time to make these changes.  The first thing I noticed while spending a few days on the Great Divide, was that I needed a little more room than what my Revelate Viscacha bag could provide.  After reading a few excellent cycling blogs, I stumbled onto the Carradice Camper Longflap saddlebag.  This bag is almost twice as voluminous as my Viscacha bag.  It’s also nearly 3 times as heavy, so if you’re counting grams, this may not be the bag for you.  However, if you are counting convenience and capacity, it may be the perfect bag for you.  DSC00010Let me start by saying I love everything about this bag, from the stiff waxed cotton fabric, to the rivets and buckles, to the leather strapping.  It’s the perfect blend between style, function and practicality.  The British Racing Green color only adds to the overall appearance.   In my mind, it’s completely Ogre-esque.   DSC00002That being said, I needed to make a change or two.  First off, the wooden dowel used in the back of the bag looked a little wimpy to me.  Also, it was cut sharp at a 90 degree angle which looked as if it might abrade the corners of the bag.  I cut another dowel, longer and slightly larger in diameter, and rounded off the corners for a smooth finish.  DSC00004The original dowel had a flat spot on one side to better fit against the bag.  On my table saw, I cut a flat spot on the new larger dowel.  DSC00007The flat spot rests against the back of the bag.  Don’t those corners look a lot better?

DSC00009The dowel is screwed to the back of the bag to provide hanging support.  There is also a nylon skirt at the top opening (mine is tucked downward in this photo).DSC00012The two side pockets are much larger than they look.  Check out the 1 liter Nalgene bottle.  DSC00011Yup, it fits.  The flap just buckles.   DSC00013Looking down into the bag, showing the Nalgene bottle for size comparison.  This is a nice size bag and I wouldn’t want it one centimeter smaller.  The pocket on the right side is compressed against the main compartment in this photo (don’t worry, it’s there).DSC00027The saddlebag is supported with a Bagman 2 Expedition Support rack.  This stabilizes the load and keeps it from rotating forward into the back of your thighs. Notice the leather strap near the top.  These straps wrap around the dowel inside the bag and fasten through the saddle tabs on the back of the Brooks.  This rack is completely compatible with the Brooks B67 sprung saddle.  Also, notice the room now created in front of the bag.  I will definitely find a good use for this newly created storage area (how about my sleeping pad or a small Tarptent).  DSC00024Near the bottom, I ran the leather strap around the base of the rack.  This rack is light, strong and very simple.   DSC00028There is even a small area under the rack where I might fasten my sandals.
DSC00020And here is the saddlebag in all its glory.  If you can’t tell, I’m totally in love with this setup.  It offers convenient access and increased storage, much needed on my last trip.  Yet, you say, “It’s not water proof”.  No worries…just pack all clothing in a waterproof stuff sack.  This makes it even easier to unload the clothing into your tent at the end of a long day in the saddle.  DSC01277Now for the grips.  One word, “Ergon GP1”, done.
DSC01264DSC00056Don’t forget to wrap the awesome Jones H loop bar.  Through the words of Journey, “Anyway you want it, that’s the way you need it, anyway you want it”.  DSC00032Next up: The Tires.  I was never really happy with the stock WTB Nano 2.1 tires.  First off, I prefer a wider tire for off-road riding.  Secondly, they just look a little anemic to me.  DSC00031Now thats more like it.  Schwalbe Smart Sams.  These are not as slow as you might think.  Look at the concentration of knobbiest around the center area.  This provides a nice on-road riding ridge.  DSC00026The Smart Sam’s are affordable, tough and wide at 2.25″.  I love to run off-road gravel at 25-30 lb., the extra width and air volume provides a more comfortable ride.  DSC00021Next up:  The pedals.  These nylon platform pedals are thin, light and strong.  They also are very affordable at $29.00/pair.  They are also completely rebuildable.  DSC00023The thin side cutouts allow for straps if you so choose.  DSC00035Complete rig minus the frame bag and front harness kit (which I only use when touring).  I always leave the front Everything bags attached (never know when you need to grab 2 liters of RootBeer for the Pizza).

Summary:

My Surly Ogre is now a proper machine.  With the above changes, it fits my personal style and riding preferences.  It is so much fun turning a bike into a proper machine.  All this stuff is dirt cheap compared to motorized toys.  Why not get your bike right?  If you do, you’ll enjoy spending more time on it.  If you don’t, things will never feel quite right.  And, you’ll find an excuse not to ride it.  Once you’ve spent all the money to buy it, you might as well get things right and make it yours.

Bikepacking is a blast.  If you haven’t yet experienced this type of riding, you need to try it.  It has become my most enjoyable form of cycling.  Nothing like two or three days touring on backcountry gravel roads.  I can only imagine what a month or two would be like.

About brent1965

Just an ordinary husband and father. Love outdoor pursuits such as: Sailing, Nordic skiing, Outdoor Photography, Cycling and Van Life.
This entry was posted in Bikepacking, Panniers and Bags and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pimping my 2014 Surly Ogre

  1. Julie Bennett says:

    Great looking ride! I am looking into getting the Jones loop bars. Was curious about the shifters you are using. Brand? Friction or indexed? Will they work with SLX / XT?

    Julie

  2. brent1965 says:

    Julie, Thanks for the comment. The shifters I am using on the Jones bar are stock Shimano Deore shifters that came on the bike. I believe they are compatible with any mountain gearing setup…but not positive. The rear derailer can be adjusted to friction or index, while the front derailer is friction only. I really love this arrangement because when, not if the front derailer fails to stay in adjustment, you can simply dial it in. I have used similar shifters for years while touring…it is my favorite setup. In my experience, sometimes the simplest things seem to work the best.
    Brent

  3. VeloVert says:

    Beautiful Surly Ogre. Is it a size Medium (18″). I will be ordering an Ogre very soon but can’t decide between Medium and Large. I’m 5″11 and would like to set it up like yours with the bar about level with the saddle. Thank you.

  4. brent1965 says:

    VeloVert, honestly I’m not sure which size I have. I think it is the medium, but not 100% sure. I looked on the frame and couldn’t see a size. Sorry I can’t be more helpful.
    Brent

  5. VeloVert says:

    Hi Brent and thank you for your reply. It looks like a Medium to me as well. After considering both the Ogre and the Fargo, I decided to go with the Ogre because of the flat bar and I will be ordering one in the next few days.
    Jan

  6. brent1965 says:

    Jan, I think you are making a great choice. It offers lower gears than the Fargo and better off road control with the extra wide bar. This matters when bombing down a gravel road fully loaded. I also feel the flat bar offers a better braking hand position. I love mine. Now, I might consider the ECR if buying again. Have you looked at this bike also?
    Brent

  7. VeloVert says:

    Brent, I was finally able to try a Fargo in my size a couple days ago and was a bit disappointed: I didn’t always feel comfortable going down gravel roads or getting around tight corners with the Woodchipper drop bar and the SRAM shifters didn’t help either. The ECR is indeed very intriguing but I’m looking for a more “versatile, do it all” bike. It seems that the ECR would lean more towards dirt than road compared to an Ogre.
    Jeff Jones Steel Diamond Unicrown bike is another one that I was seriously considering but never got a chance to ride/try. I’ll see where the Ogre takes me and go from there.
    Thank you for your wonderful blog and reading about your own experience with the Ogre convinced me that I’m going in the right direction.
    Jan

  8. brent1965 says:

    Jan, I agree the Ogre is more versatile. In fact probably thee most versatile bike I own. I think you have made a great choice. I also agree that thumb shifters are easier to shift than the Shram shifters. And you shift a lot on a tour. Excellent choice, IMHO
    Brent

  9. 2heel says:

    Older post I know, but had to add my 2 cents.. I just completed an 850 mile bike tour from Indiana to Virginia on my 2016 Ogre, and have nothing but excellent words for both the trip and the bike! Would like to hear how yours has been since the original posting.
    I’m working on documenting the trip over at http://ogreadventures.wordpress.com/

    • brent1965 says:

      2Heel, I have really enjoyed my Ogre. I am now set up traditional style with front and rear racks (OMM Pioneer) with Ortlieb old style dry panniers, and feel this system works the best for me (I like to haul a little more gear than most). I love this bike and don’t see myself changing out this bike for a long time.
      Best,
      Brent

  10. CKG says:

    Thanks for sharing all the great information on this post and others. After reading your posts I ended up buying a Surly Ogre and just went on my first off road tour along an abandoned railway in eastern Canada. It is a great bike and it was a great ride.

  11. brent1965 says:

    CKG, Glad to hear you had a great tour and are enjoying your Ogre. Ya, the Ogre is a great mule with mild manners. I use mine now with full front and rear racks and panniers. That way I can be the shurpa for day adventure rides with my family.

Leave a comment